top of page

I Started a Business!

While on maternity leave I thought about all of the things I could do from home to earn an income. I have a Teachers Pay Teachers account (a parrot scholar), I offer Math Tutoring, and I have tried and failed to enter the sticker game on Etsy. I began to develop an idea of how I could use my creativity and interests in crafting to come up with another business idea.


I went through all of the steps of creating a business plan, meeting with an agency for a loan and looking for a location to hold my business. This process happened over a few months, before I was set to return to work from my maternity leave. A lot of learning was happening but the biggest piece of knowledge that swayed me away from a brick and mortar location was the minimum commitment of a 5 year lease.


While all of this was playing out, I also had my daughter on daycare lists. There is a daycare shortage in my area and it takes 2-3 years to get into a daycare. You guessed it, she didn't get in yet. I needed to figure out how I could make money from home so that I can still watch her when others aren't available.


One of the goals of my business was to create classes that both my one-year-old and my four-year-old could participate in together. I had done classes with them individually but struggled to find classes that would let them participate together. My business plan began to focus on creativity, crafting and inclusivity for families with children of different ages.


The most unique part of my business idea was the splatter room. This would my first venture to start my business without having a brick and mortar location. I come to your party or event, I set up a mobile splatter tent, you get to throw paint around and I clean up. All of the fun with a minimal mess for you. There is more to come with my business Create, Paint & Play, this is just the beginning.




Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page