top of page

Part 2: Inexpensive things to do with your children in Peterborough Ontario

Yesterday my kids and I wanted to get out of the house for a bit. We went to one of their favourite FREE places to visit in Peterborough... the Library!


The kids' section is located downstairs and easily accessible by elevator or stairs. My son enjoys looking at the pictures on the wall that lead to the kids' section. The library is large with loads of books and activities.


My children headed over to the carpet to play with the toys; there is a wooden stacking toy that they were both interested in. This can be a great spot to socialize with other families.


After we finished at the carpet, my children were ready for a snack. The library allows snacks and drinks, we make sure we tidy up after ourselves. After our snack, we usually look in the activity bins (e.g., connect 4, magtiles...) but today my children were on the move. They wanted to crawl through the tunnel and spent several minutes doing so.

Next we headed over to the table with colouring sheets and crayons; my daughter coloured for a couple of minutes and my son went on the computer. He is learning how to use a mouse, and the kids computers are perfect for him to do so. He practices typing his name, he listens to books, and he colours



The library has a variety of drop-in and registered programs that you can check out in person or on their website. We highly recommend the Peterborough Public Library!

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page